top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaTammie Rawls

COVA Reflection & Application

Updated: Mar 24, 2023



COVA...OH BOY!!!

When I first started the program, I was blown away by the freedom and responsibility that the COVA approach offered. Let me begin by saying I didn't feel free at all. I felt lost! I remember reading the instructions for the first assignment. I could not believe that I would have to choose how I wanted to present it. I had never had this much freedom in an educational setting before. The idea of having a choice and voice in presenting my assignments was initially a little unnerving. However, having a significant learning environment coupled with the collaboration of my classmates helped me tremendously.

I had heard about the growth mindset before entering the program. Yet, learning the difference between a fixed mindset and a growth mindset, then developing a growth mindset plan influenced my willpower to be successful in the course. As I worked through the program, I started to feel empowered to embrace the freedom and ownership of my learning.

My Plan and Philosophy

My innovation plan is authentic and addresses a significant issue in my school - the need for literacy skills among first-grade students. I plan to start small by implementing the plan in my classroom and collecting data to support its effectiveness before presenting it to other teachers. Doing this will help others see that I believe in it and that it's not just the newest instructional craze. Then I will show others how to implement it in their classrooms.


My learning philosophy has also evolved throughout the program. While I still believe that everyone can learn and that learning is a lifelong process. Now I know that by creating a significant learning environment and implementing the COVA approach, learners will be free to learn without limitations.

Challenges and Making Changes One of the biggest challenges I faced with the COVA approach was taking control of my voice. I have always been the type of person that thinks of an idea but hardly ever acts on it. I have felt this way mainly due to fear of being wrong. The COVA approach has helped me start using my voice because I am allowed to be authentic.


It was challenging to adjust to focusing on my organization as the audience for my work because I knew how difficult it would be to get people on board with my plan. After learning about the Six Sources of Influence and the Four Disciplines of Execution, I became more confident in leading change in my organization. To prepare my learners and colleagues for the COVA approach and CSLE, I plan to start by teaching a few lessons on growth mindset to build their confidence before beginning the work. Then follow up by presenting my professional learning course. During the course, I aim to inspire them to feel confident about using my plan in their classrooms and reassure them that they will have support along the way.

The COVA approach and CSLE are valuable tools for creating meaningful learning experiences. I'm so glad that I got to experience it firsthand. While there may be challenges in implementing these approaches, the benefits to learners are worth the effort.

I look forward to fully implementing these approaches in my organization and developing my learners' choice, ownership, and voice through authentic learning.

Reference

Harapnuik, D. & Thibodeaux, T. (2022). Inspire learning through choice, ownership, voice, and authentic experiences: COVA, (In Press)

20 views0 comments
bottom of page